Can I cancel my insurance if selling my car?

Sold your car? Update your cover

If you're selling your car to get a new one, you can get a new quote too. It's easy. Go to your secure online account - My Swift Space - and it couldn't be quicker. Just follow the simple steps online and you'll be able to update your details to include your new car. It may mean your premium rising or going down but, as there's no admin fee to make the changes if you do it online, it's already saved you money.

Existing customers

Change your car details

If you're selling your car and not replacing it, you'll want to stop your insurance. Contact our Help Team on 0330 024 6394 to talk through the next steps.

You can find out more about refunds here.

Upon cancellation, you will need to declare that you will destroy all copies of the Certificate of Motor Insurance relating to your policy (whether held in paper, electronic, digital or any other format) within seven days, in accordance with the Road Traffic Act 1988.

Please remember to keep all your details up to date because your cover could be affected if anything isn't correct.

We’re here to take your call Monday to Friday 8am to 8pm, Saturday 9am to 5pm, and Sunday 9am to 3pm.

Please note you might have wait a while during our busy times. Call us Tuesday to Thursday between 8am and 9am, or 5pm and 8pm, for the shortest wait.

Over the festive period we're here to take your call:

  • Thursday 24 December: 9am to 5pm
  • Friday 25 December: closed
  • Saturday 26 December: closed
  • Sunday 27 December: 9am to 3pm
  • Monday 28 December: 10am to 4pm
  • Tuesday 29 December: 8am to 7pm
  • Wednesday 30 December: 8am to 7pm
  • Thursday 31 December: 9am to 5pm
  • Friday 1 January: closed
  • Saturday 2 January: 9am to 5pm
  • Sunday 3 January: 9am to 3pm
  • Monday 4 January: 8am to 8pm
.